Mary Queen of Plots

The writing of Mary Stewart (1916-2014)


Mary Stewart bookshelves
My Mary Stewart bookshelves

Please note that this page is a work in progress. I hope to add more detail over time.

Mary Stewart bibliography

The dates in this book list are those quoted in Who’s Who during Mary Stewart’s lifetime. Some of these dates refer to magazine serialisations that ran prior to book publication.

Madam, Will You Talk? (1954) – suspense

Wildfire at Midnight (1956) – suspense

Thunder on the Right (1957) – suspense

Nine Coaches Waiting (1958) – suspense

My Brother Michael (1959) – suspense

The Ivy Tree (1961) – suspense

The Moon-Spinners (1962) – suspense

This Rough Magic (1964) – suspense

Airs Above the Ground (1965) – suspense

The Gabriel Hounds (1967) – suspense

The Wind off the Small Isles (1968) – suspense

The Crystal Cave (1970) – Arthurian

The Little Broomstick (1971) – children’s

The Hollow Hills (1973) – Arthurian

Ludo and the Star Horse (1974) – children’s

Touch Not the Cat (1976) – suspense

The Last Enchantment (1979) – Arthurian

A Walk in Wolf Wood (1980) – children’s

The Wicked Day (1983) – Arthurian

Thornyhold (1988) – suspense

Frost on the Window and other poems (1990) – poetry

Stormy Petrel (1991) – suspense

The Prince and the Pilgrim (1995) – Arthurian

Rose Cottage (1997) – suspense

The Wind Off the Small Isles and the Lost One (2017) – suspense

Short Stories

The Lost One (1960; re-issued with The Wind Off the Small Isles in 2017)

The Loch (1971)


Marvell and Nature (1944)

Radio Plays

All are c 1958:

Call Me at Ten-Thirty

The Crime of Mr Merry

Lift from a Stranger

The Lord of Langdale

Other published works by Mary Stewart

About Mary Stewart (1970, 1973)

‘Why shouldn’t one write “escapist” fiction?’ in The Australian Author magazine (1977)

‘Setting and background in the novel’ in Writing Mystery and Crime Fiction, ed Sylvia K Burack (1985)

%d bloggers like this: