I am in Durham in the north east of England. It is a beautiful little city and I am having a wonderful time here – and as I don’t have time to write a blogpost I thought I’d share several photos of Durham. Mary Stewart attended Durham University in the 1930s and taught here during World War II, and afterwards until 1956. The VE Day dance where she met her husband Frederick Stewart took place at Durham Castle.

Durham Castle too.jpg
Durham Castle. My own photograph, 2016

Durham Castle is part of the University of Durham and contains student halls of residence. Guided tours are available: time permitting, I might sign up for a tour, I’m not sure yet.

The castle marks one end of Durham’s UNESCO World Heritage Site, and at the other end is Durham Cathedral: here is a photograph of it that I took this evening. Even clad in scaffolding, it is an impressive sight.

20161018_185403
Durham Cathedral. My own photograph, 2016

Hopefully I’ll get a chance to blog more fully about Durham once I am home again. In the meantime, I wholeheartedly recommend a visit to this city if the opportunity arises!